← Back to ORBIT Access
MATCH READYOPEN

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science

DOE Community College Internships (CCI) — Summer 2027

DOE laboratory-based, mentored research and technical projects designed for community college students.

Application deadlineJanuary 6, 2027 at 5 PM ET

About this opportunity

DOE laboratory-based, mentored research and technical projects designed for community college students.

Verified eligibility context

Summer 2027 applications OPEN, due 01/06/2027 at 5 PM ET. Do not infer citizenship, GPA, or first-year eligibility from incomplete excerpts; refer to DOE Eligibility page. Site-specific $650/week and travel figures are documented for Ames, not assumed universal.

Verified access features

PAIDCOMMUNITY COLLEGE ELIGIBLE

Opportunity details

Research Area / Discipline
Engineering · Computer Science · Physics · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Interdisciplinary
Research Topics
Research Intensity
Not Specified by Program
Opportunity Type
Summer Research Program
Location
Participating U.S. Department of Energy national laboratories
Format
In Person
Duration
10 weeks
Compensation
Paid 10-week research/technical internship; Ames National Laboratory lists $650/week. Host-site housing/travel benefits vary.
Housing
Not Specified
Travel Support
Not Specified
Eligibility
Community College Student · recent community college graduates (check DOE eligibility criteria)
Citizenship Requirements
Not Specified
Prior Research Requirement
Not Specified
Application Requirements
DOE CCI online application · academic records and application responses · at least 2 recommendations.
Recommendation Letters
2
Official Contact
sc.cci@doe.gov
Published detail coverage
C · 74%
ORBIT Access Support
NR — fewer than 8 support dimensions verified

ORBIT provides opportunity information as an educational resource. Program requirements, deadlines, eligibility, funding, and availability may change. Students should verify all information with the official organization before applying. The ORBIT Access Support Grade reflects verified accessibility features; it does not measure program quality, prestige, or likelihood of acceptance.